The Conjuring: A horror movie WORTH seeing

Let’s face it:

Horror movies nowadays are usually a complete waste of time, unless you are watching for a laugh (with a few exceptions like Sinister).

The Conjuring, however, is different.

the-conjuring-poster

Based on a “true” story, The Conjuring takes place in Rhode Island during the 70’s. A family moves into a house, not knowing that its haunted (I know, how original, but hear me out). Fairly quickly into the film, supernatural occurrences start to occur. (Thank God, because I hate when horror movies don’t get straight to the point *cough* Paranormal Activity *cough*)

Throughout the film, The Conjuring employs horror elements from movies like Paranormal Activity and The Exorcism of Emily Rose. Not only does it use these elements, it uses them well. The director, James Wan, knew how and when to use certain horror elements, and because of that the horror tricks didn’t get old and it kept me guessing what would happen next.

Vera Farmiga and Patrick Wilson both did an excellent job playing Ed and Lorraine Warren and I think they were chosen well for the roles. The film felt as though it had a high production value and was well done overall. If you are going to see one horror movie this year, make The Conjuring that movie.

Overall Rating: 8.5/10

I may be a bit biased in rating this movie, as I usually tend to give horror movies some more slack because I often don’t expect much out of them, but this was a good film. One of my friends said, “this was the best horror movie I have seen in my whole life.” Though it was plenty scary, I can’t say I would agree. Although, if you’re a fan of horror movies, give this one a shot.

o-THE-CONJURING-facebook

P.S.

See if you can find the allusion to the Amityville Horror haunting at the end of the movie! It is subtle, so be careful it doesn’t slip by!

P.P.S.

Maybe if I’m bored and have the time, I’ll do a follow up post about how “real” this story is and I’ll list the facts that I find for y’all!

-Drew

7 responses to “The Conjuring: A horror movie WORTH seeing

  1. Pingback: THE “CONJURING” MOVIE REVIEW | wesstubblefield1·

  2. Pingback: 'The Conjuring' shows subtle can be scary - The Queen of Scream·

  3. Pingback: How “factual” is The Conjuring? | We're Not Sorry·

  4. Yeah, I generally avoid horror films because the true horror is usually in how wretched the film is. BUT, every so often you get a horror film that shows you that maybe the people involved actually cared about the movie. I liked Sinister a lot too, and it was the first time a horror film had really gotten to me in a long time. Now, The Conjuring has done it again! My friend and I reviewed this movie too. If you’d like to check it out, your thoughts would be much appreciated 🙂

Let us know what you think!