Music For Your Monday: Game of Thrones needs an Emmy for the Season 6 finale’s music.

Orchestral scores in films are beautiful. Some of the most iconic aspects of some of the most iconic films are the scores brought by grandiose strings and harmonies while conducted by music legends.

Exhibit A:

Last night’s season finale of Game of Thrones had all any fan could ask for: Fire, blood, death, (in)justice, theories proven, man buns, shock, my favorite character making it out alive, etc. What I got as a bonus was one of the best composed and paced musical scores I had ever heard.

What the music did was exactly what a score should do: To entice the audience and amplify whatever emotion the audience feels in that moment of action. Thrones did this perfectly last night for the (literally) 20 minute opening sequence in King’s Landing. Above is the specific track minus the gaps where no music is played during the actual episode.

Pianos are something I don’t think I have ever heard throughout Thrones’ run and it was perfect. I wish I could go more in details and describe the scene but I don’t want to spoil anything for people who haven’t seen it. Just believe me when I say the series of events that unfolded would surely have evoked a reaction from we the viewers; but with the composition above, it made for a very eerie, exciting, epic, and even sad sequence.

I really do think composer Ramin Djawadi should be nominated and (hopefully) receive an Emmy award at the end of the day for musical score. I’m not worried about the acting nominations – they’ll come (Liam Cunningham). I’ve always admired Thrones’ soundtrack and I even started listening to it when I had to read for my Shakespeare class this past semester. However, this is unlike anything I’ve ever heard before. Certainly give it another listen above if you watched last night’s finale. Give it a first time listen if you haven’t, or if you don’t care about Thrones spoilers, you can watch the entire scene because it honestly plays out like it were a short film in and of itself.

-Reed

IMAGE: https://psarips.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/04/got.jpg

Let us know what you think!

