10 songs I can’t stop listening to right now.

In the wake of ladies night at the local dive my friends and I frequent at every few Thursday nights, I sit here at my internship because my boss didn’t tell me he’s not coming in and I did all the work that was due at the end of the week on Monday. I was listening to my Spotify and came to the realization that the world needs to know what songs I’ve been listening to lately. I have a very addictive personality so more often than not, I’ll just listen to ten of the same songs for a solid month before I move onto the next ten songs I find and slowly cycle out the old ones. Some you may be familiar with, some you may not be. Some you’ll consider bangers, some not (If you’re unsure how to determine if a song is a banger or not, learn here).

I’ll be honest, it’s Friday and the Russian who serves me coffee every morning when I go to my internship messed up my iced French vanilla so this seems like a good idea in the moment. Also this is in no particular order; but the last one is definitely my favorite.

Hotline Bling – Drake

It’s Drake just being Drake; and the music video is both hilarious and phenomenal. I once stayed up until 2:00am just watching Drake vines ripped from this music video.

Omen – Disclosure & Sam Smith

I’m really not the biggest fan of Sam Smith and it may just be a coincidence that the only other song I really like him in is also with Disclosure; but this cool rhythm goes well with Smith’s all too familiar self pitying vocals. My friend Allie showed me this song on a random Saturday night and i haven’t looked back. In fact, she actually got me a little more interested in Disclosure

Good Times Roll – GRiZ & Big Gigantic

I saw GRiZ at Ezoo at the beginning of September and immediately downloaded everything he’s ever done when I got home. The perfect blend of electric and funk, it’s a feel great song. He also played the saxophone in this song live on stage when I saw him.

Hello – Adele

Adele said when she dropped the first single for her new album, 25, that she didn’t wanna cause too much of a commotion. Too bad your name is Adele and you haven’t come out with anything since 2012. Three years later and it seems like she never left. This should just be the new Bond theme, not whatever Sam Smith has cooked up.

Sorry – Justin Bieber

I hate myself for liking this song; and I hate myself a little more for being a little excited for Bieber’s new album.

G.O.M.D. – J. Cole

Do yourself a favor and listen to this whole album, 2014 Forest Hills Drive. This just happens to be my favorite song on it.

Do It – Tuxedo

This just showed up on my Discover Weekly playlist a few weeks ago and I immediately fell in love. A great blend of groovy and soul.

Levels – Nick Jonas

I love Nick Jonas. There, I said it.

Run Away With Me – Carly Rae Jepsen

Carly Rae Jepsen’s new album, E•MO•TION, is arguably the best pop album to come out this year and no one knows it because they’re still obsessing over Taylor Swift’s 1989. Take a break from it. There are plenty of other pop artists out there.

Sugar – Ishdarr

Ishdarr is an incredible rapper that you have literally never heard of. If you like Chance the Rapper, you should definitely check this guy out. He has four singles out right now, I believe, and this one is by far my favorite. It starts off slow with great lyrics and flow, then in the chorus he kicks it up to this funky head bobbing vibe you can’t help but jam to. Wow, in light of this blog post I guess i really love funk.

For more updates on the songs i’m obsessing over, you can follow me on Spotify.

-Reed

IMAGE: http://media.gq.com/photos/56269c8902a8cebe217a896f/3:2/w_806/here-are-memes-from-drakes-hotline-bling-video-0.jpg

Let us know what you think!

