Am I basic?

I was driving to Dunkins this morning to pick up my daily iced french vanilla with milk and sugar and ‘Breathe’ by Michelle Branch came on 106.3 and I proceeded to lose it and scream this song like it was the last time I’d ever hear it. Since that moment I’ve been kinda having this moment of catharsis (except it’s not really catharsis at all) and I began to ask myself a question I never wanted to ask… Am I basic?
Let’s just look at the facts real quick and think about the various (basic) things that I tend to do.
I tweet at least three or four times a day. Sometimes I do play-by-play tweets and those will be like ten deep in the matter of about 25 minutes. I’m always retweeting things so I know people saw that I think it’s humorous or worth knowing. When I discover any movie news, I have to notify the world as if I’m the only source (Hell, this blog basically personifies that). I also tweet song lyrics and movie quotes all too often. Usually while I’m listening/watching whatever song/movie the lyric/quote is from. I snapchat literally everything. If I’m about to demolish a PB&J, my top friends on Snapchat know about it. I Snapchat myself singing in the car (Don’t worry I keep my hands on the wheel). I NEVER do two takes when it comes to Snapchat videos. If I can’t get it on the first try, it’s not worth posting. But my picture taking doesn’t end there – I instagram often, and when I do it’s usually to show off that I’m somewhere peculiar like Costa Rica or Los Angeles. When I’m abroad I need to instagram at least once a day to show my friends and family how much fun I’m having. I’ve intagrammed a plane wing multiple times with captions such as but not limited to, “Can we get much higher,” and, “Highway to the danger zone.” Whenever there’s a group pic happening, I need to be in it, and I always shout, “Dibs on the Insta!” My music taste is basically everything but I am a total sucker for Top 40 pop songs by artists including but not limited to Ariana Grande, Charlii XCX, Selena Gomez, Nicki Minaj, Chris Brown, Usher, Big Sean, Calvin Harris, etc. Beyoncé, Rihanna, and Taylor Swift are all my queens. I have a sick obsession with Kanye West and everything he does. If he even blows his nose, I’ll tell someone about it. For god’s sake I love Drake too! Like I’m not even the BIGGEST fan of his music, I just love him and how ridiculous he is as a person. Back when I first discovered that alcohol was a thing, I used to house raspberry Smirnoff because I liked the fruitiness of it. Of course one terrible night led me to never drinking that ever again; but I still enjoy fruity drinks. AND, as mentioned above in literally the first sentence of this blog, I drink iced french vanilla coffees almost daily.
Despite all of these “basic” tendencies, There are things that “Basic people do” that I have sworn never to do. Such as:
I’ll NEVER post a picture of my food on Instagram. That’s something I’ve always boycotted. You will also never see an instagram of a motivational quote ripped out of The Great Gatsby and taken completely out of context, and then the caption is just five praise emojis. Selfies are also off the table on Instagram. I think I did one once, but I had a friend in it with me and he was a dude so there was nothing basic about that. NOTHING. I also can’t stand the obscure quotations under selfies or some derogatory statement about the person’s eyebrows/lips/skin/hair/eyeliner (Sabrina Sutton, if you’re reading this, this is not a jab at you, specifically). When it comes to tweeting, you’ll never see me tweet about chocolate, or staying in and watching Netflix while next to a jar of pickles and a bottle of wine on a Friday night. I really just try to keep my feelings off social media as best as I can. Sometimes it doesn’t work but most of the time it does when I want it to. Despite my liking for Top 40 music, I did grow up listening to British invasion music of the 60s like The Rolling Stones, The Who, The Beatles, The Doors, etc. That turned me onto a lot of classic rock like Led Zeppelin, Pearl Jam, Pink Floyd, and Queen. I love modern/indie/punk rock too like Red Hot Chili Peppers, (old) Maroon 5, Coldplay (Mylo Xyloto and before) Modern Baseball, The Front Bottoms, Fall Out Boy, The Killers, Taking Back Sunday, Yellowcard, Panic! At the Disco, and more. Chipotle SUCKS; and everyone knows basic people literally breathe Chipotle. It’s all about Moe’s, clearly the superior commercial Mexican joint. I paid $2 and got a grocery bag of chips to go with the chips I already got for free with my meal. Meanwhile at Chipotle, you’re paying like $3 for a lunch bag of chips with more salt in them than the Dead Sea, AM I RIGHT?!…. Is this thing on?
At the end of the day, I’m not really going to change what I do, whether I’m basic or not. I like who I am and I think I’m awesome, so I guess that’s what really matters right? ^^ That was so basic.
-Reed
Let us know what you think!

