Evil will rise; a review of The Lazarus Effect (2015)

the-lazarus-effect_1424378817

My New Years Movie Resolution was to grow more of an appreciation for horror films. Matter of fact, my friend who idolizes them gave me a list of his 25 favorites  that I “need” to watch before I die. It came to no surprise when he asked me to see this movie with him.

I watched the trailer and right off the bat I liked the cast and was convinced enough by the story to spend money on a ticket. The film stars Olivia Wilde, Mark Duplass, Sarah Bolger, Evan Peters, and Donald Glover as a group of medical students that experiment on dead animals in an effort to bring them back from the dead. Naturally, things go awry and the group bites off more than they can chew.

As far as horror films go, the movie starts off on the right foot, establishing the setting and goals set out by its characters; but with the PG-13 rating, it seemed like more of a thriller once the plot really started rolling. The movie relies a little bit on jump scares; which is one of the things I hate about horror films; but it isn’t gratuitous enough to complain.

screen-shot-2015-01-07-at-11-19-19-am-olivia-wilde-will-freak-you-out-in-the-lazarus-effect-trailerI think my biggest gripe with this movie is the fact that the tone switches three or four times throughout, and the switch is so drastic and in your face that it’s too disorienting. First it’s a horror movie, then it’s a thriller, then it suddenly just gets really satanic with illuminati and whatnot. I’m in no way an expert on horror as a genre, but I like my horror movies as just horror. Yeah, there will be thriller aspects to it – but it’ll still, to its core, stick to being a horror film.

The Lazarus Effect is a little bit of a lot of things all squeezed into an hour and a half, and because of that it certainly feels very rushed. As far as horror films go, I think this is a very forgetful movie. Olivia Wilde and the rest of the cast do well in their roles (Shoutout to Evan Peters, I love that guy); but this is in no way a “defining movie” for any of them.

If you’re into horror films, I think you should pass on this one. If you go into thinking it’s more of a thriller, maybe you’ll like it more. Also I think horror movies shouldn’t be associated with a PG-13 rating; but that’s just me.

Overall Rating: 5/10 – Average

Some exciting parts; not enough to justify paying to see it. The cast does well, but that’s about all that really clicks in this movie.

-Reed

IMAGES: http://imageserver.moviepilot.com/screen-shot-2015-01-07-at-11-19-19-am-olivia-wilde-will-freak-you-out-in-the-lazarus-effect-trailer.png?width=1440&height=610, https://cmgpbpthepopfile.files.wordpress.com/2015/02/the-lazarus-effect_1424378817.jpg, http://www.bhmpics.com/walls/the_lazarus_effect_2015-wide.jpg

One response to “Evil will rise; a review of The Lazarus Effect (2015)

  1. Pingback: It doesn’t think. It doesn’t feel. It doesn’t give up; a review of It Follows (2015) | WNS·

Let us know what you think!

