Making waves in our world; a review of The SpongeBob Movie: Sponge Out of Water (2015)

the-spongebob-movie-sponge-out-of-water-poster

While I thought Fifty Shades of Grey (2015) would be the first film of 2015 that I would see, I can’t help but succumb to my childhood and see some good old SpongeBob SquarePants. So, without further adeue, “Are you ready kids?”

This past weekend I woke up and looked online to see that the new SpongeBob movie had finally hit theaters. I saw a trailer for it a few months ago and took a mental note that I wanted to see it; but I totally forgot the date that it actually came out. So, when I discovered this, I texted my friend Dan and asked if he wanted to see the movie; to which he replied, “WHAT TIME.” We ventured to the AMC Loew’s Raceway 10 and stood in line for tickets. It was then that I had the realization that we were about to head into a SpongeBob movie at 3:15 in the afternoon on opening weekend… There was no turning back from here, so we made our way into the theater with the rest of Long Island’s population of mothers and their screaming children. Shockingly enough, they weren’t THAT disturbing. Maybe they jack the volume up for movies like this because they know how loud children can get. Smart, if you ask me.

In all honesty the movie is pretty cut and dry. Plankton, the main antagonist of SpongeBob, wishes to steal the Krabby Patty secret formula (For the burgers that SpongeBob fries at the Krusty Krab); but then the formula goes missing (Not because of Plankton) and SpongeBob’s town, Bikini Bottom, spirals into complete anarchy. This is literally hilarious to me that a lack of burgers leads to the apocalypse. Kinda meta.

The-Spongebob-Squarepants-Movie-Sponge-Out-Of-Water-Movie-Review-Image-7The creators of this movie definitely knew their demographics and successfully appeased to all of them. It appeases to little kids because, well, It’s SpongeBob! It’s the characters being themselves for a longer time than a 20 minute slot on Nickelodeon. What was great for people like myself and Dan was that there are a lot of callbacks to OLD SpongeBob episodes that we grew up watching in the early 2000s – which also made me feel really old with the knowledge that SpongeBob has been around longer than probably every kid in that theater has been alive. Obviously people like me are going to see this movie and by giving these little winks, I enjoyed the movie way more than I thought I would.

maxresdefaultWhen I first saw the trailer, it looked like the main plot of the story was going to take place in the “Surface World” and SpongeBob and the gang were gonna be in 3D as opposed to their 2D drawings. While this did happen, it really didn’t happen until the third act of the movie. The majority of the movie takes place in 2D which I really liked a lot because the 3D SpongeBob was what made me a little reluctant to see the movie. I was afraid that from there on out it would be a lot of “SpongeBob is in 3D now” jokes; but that was hardly the case.

The SpongeBob Movie: Sponge Out of Water is a breathe of fresh air (Even though they live under water) for any longtime fans of the sea critter like me. The characters have the quirks that we’ve come to know and love. Kids will laugh, young adults such as myself will feel nostalgia, and even parents will be entertained by it. It doesn’t hit you in the feels like a Pixar film but SpongeBob has never been the medium to do that. He’s just pure fun and laughs and there’s nothing wrong with that.

Overall Rating: 7/10 – Good

It’s like watching four or five episodes of SpongeBob that you love in a row. Laughs throughout, and parents won’t want the movie to end as soon as possible. Also Antonio Banderas is in it and it took me 2/3 of the movie to figure out it was him. He didn’t bring down the movie but his performance is nothing of note.

-Reed

IMAGES: http://www.spongebobmovie.com.au/images/sitebg/background01.jpg, http://cdn.collider.com/wp-content/uploads/the-spongebob-movie-sponge-out-of-water-poster.jpg, http://www.fatmovieguy.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/02/The-Spongebob-Squarepants-Movie-Sponge-Out-Of-Water-Movie-Review-Image-7.jpg, http://i.ytimg.com/vi/w3I4C7i3pi8/maxresdefault.jpg

One response to “Making waves in our world; a review of The SpongeBob Movie: Sponge Out of Water (2015)

Let us know what you think!

