These are a few of my favorite things: Looking back on How I Met Your Mother (2005-2014)

How-I-Met-Your-Mother-image-how-i-met-your-mother-36324299-1024-768

I promised at the end of March this past year that  I would give a review of the series finale to How I Met Your Mother (HIMYM), and I never really fulfilled that need. After continuous riots and a lot of hate mail, I’ve decided to deliver; but not only will I deliver on that, I will also give you my take on the show as a whole.

HIMYM is a show that I stumbled upon at the beginning of my senior year of high school. My older brother watched it and a few of my friends so I thought I’d give it a try. So I decided to torrent the entire first season and give the pilot episode a try. Then that led to another episode… And another… And another after that… And then I realized I’ve watched twelve episodes and it was 2:00am.

Not only is HIMYM a laugh-out-loud sitcom that puts characters in absurd and relatable situations; but it is also just a heartwarming show with a lot of lessons to be taught. The story takes place in 2030 as Ted Mosby (Josh Radnor) tells his kids the story of how he met their mother. We then go through the years starting at 2005 as we not only discover the titular question of the show, but we see Ted discover himself in the process. We follow him and his four best friends: Marshal (Jason Segel), Lily (Alyson Hannigan), Robin (Cobie Smulders), and Barney (Neil Patrick Harris). While it is mainly Ted’s story, we do learn to care about these four characters as well and their stories indeed teach us lessons just as Ted’s do.

Much like sitcoms in the late 80s and early 90s, the episodes revolve around one matter or subject at hand, leading to a life lesson where Bob Saget sits down and tells his kids how it is. HIMYM is definitely influenced by this trend seeing as, well, Bob Saget plays older Ted Mosby as he narrates the story of how he met the mother. The kids are sat down on a couch and we occasionally chime in and see them at the beginning of an episode as Ted (Saget narrating offscreen) explains to them a circumstance or life lesson that we all in a way need to hear. Yes, he is telling his kids as they sit on his couch, but you can’t help but feel when Saget addresses them saying, “Kids…” and goes into his lecture, that in all actuality he’s addressing us as we sit on our couches listening to him, and we’re his kids. It’s a juxtaposition that carried the show for the amount of time it lasted, and kept viewers invested in Ted’s long journey to finding not only the mother, but himself and what he wants.

How I Met Your MotherI base half my morals off of HIMYM and I think that the last episode of the series helped seal the deal for me. It was an episode clouded in controversy, leaving audiences and longtime fans with mixed reviews and a lot to rant about on Reddit. I, on the contrary, thought the finale was more than ample. I don’t want to give anything away in case any readers have not watched the show, but basically the best way I could put it is this way:

HIMYM laid out a lot of “rules” and “theories” for viewers to take along with them in real life. We were given the Three Day Rule, the Hot/Crazy scale, the Lemon Law, the No Questions Asked Rule, Graduation Googles, Woo Girls, the International Date Line, the Ewok Line, the Acceptable Age Difference Formula, the Chain of Screaming Theory, the Mermaid Theory, the Freeway Theory, the Platinum Rule, the Engagement Ring Effect, the Dobler-Dahmer Theory, Nothing Good Ever Happens After 2:00am, and much much more. Watch the show and you’ll understand all of these theories and in all actuality probably agree with them. But one thing we realized as the show went on that despite these rules and regulations, there was always an exception to these rules, and that is why we have the finale that we have. We can follow these rules, sure, but why follow them TO A TEE? they’re more like guidelines.

At the end of the day there is one moral and one message that HIMYM has always stressed from the beginning is that love is the most important thing that we can do in this world. It is our best friend and our worst enemy. It is what makes us mortal, it is what makes us human. Ted, Marshall, Lily, Robin, and Barney all fought for one thing in this show and it was the right to love. the right to fight for it and die for it.

Overall Rating: 9.5./10 – phenomenal

Favorite Episode: Tie between “The Naked Man” and “The Leap”

I HIGHLY encourage you to check out HIMYM. All nine seasons are on Netflix and it will be one of the fastest shows you binge watch if you get into it. It has some of the best television writing of this century, and it uses characters’ emotions and differing personalities to carry them throughout life. Each character is relatable in their own unique way and again, the best thing all these people learn to do is love.

-Reed

@Were_Not_Sorry

IMAGES: http://www.tvmediainsights.com/wp-content/uploads/HowIMetYourMother1.jpg, http://images6.fanpop.com/image/photos/36300000/How-I-Met-Your-Mother-image-how-i-met-your-mother-36324299-1024-768.jpg, http://i.huffpost.com/gen/1693664/thumbs/o-HOW-I-MET-YOUR-MOTHER-facebook.jpg

Let us know what you think!

