The end is near. How I feel about How I Met Your Mother ending tomorrow night.

How-i-met-your-mother-02

Tomorrow, Monday night, March 31st, 2014 of the common era, at 8:00pm Eastern time, what is most definitely my favorite comedy television series of all time will be taking its final bow. Yes, How I Met Your Mother’s ninth and final season is ending. I know there are people on both sides of this spectrum: People not like me who have been awaiting this day since like season 5, and people like me who have been dreading this day… but at the same time looking forward to it because we finally solve the ultimate mystery, “How does Ted meet the mother?”

How I Met Your Mother has taken its viewers on the journey to discover how Ted Mosby (Josh Radnor) meets the love of his life. Along the way we go through the stories of his best friends, Marshall Erkisen (Jason Segel), Lily Aldrin (Alyson Hannigan), Robin Scherbatsky (Cobie Smulders), and Barney Stinson (Neil Patrick Harris). For people trying to find out solely who the mother is, this could be a long and meticulous journey. However for people like me and other long time fans, it has not only been this, but the story of Ted discovering himself and reacting to the changing environment around him which includes but is not limited to the stories of his friends and their finding of themselves through all of this. Like they say, life isn’t always about the destination, it’s about the journey as well.

How I Met Your Mother is a show that I fell in love with the beginning of my senior year of high school when my brother told me to check it out. I stole season 1 off of his computer and let’s just say after the pilot and the six episodes I watched after it, I wished I’d grabbed the other five seasons he had. I don’t think I have ever binge watched a show like I did HIMYM. I’d ditch friends, parties, dances, gala events, and even meals for this show. I’ve written papers on this show, on it’s different characters. I’ve given speeches on this show and how I think it’s a modern reflection of the multiple iterations people have these days for the American Dream. I’ve formulated theories and ideas for each of the characters and have about seven predictions regarding the events that will transpire tomorrow night. Hell, last year, my friend Ryan and I re-watched the entire series with one of our friends because she simply uttered the words, “Is How I Met Your Mother a good show?” I’ve had friends try to tell me HIMYM is pointless, stupid, boring, prolonged, etc. To which I’ve told all of these people that I could care less about their wrong opinions. Regardless of what they, critics, or anyone else says, HIMYM has affected me as a person over the past few years and because of it, I’ve probably based half my morals off this show.

How I Met Your Mother wasn’t a show with just laughs and recurring jokes/themes however. There are actually a LOT of feels in this show. They touch up on literally everything at one point or another: breakups, makeups, death, family, Canada, EVERYTHING. some of the most heart felt moment’s I’ve seen on both television and film have come from this show. I’ve seen people ball their eyes out over HIMYM for both happy and sad moments. All of which is owed to the creators of this show, Carter Bays, Craig Thomas; as well as all the other writers on the show.

So come Monday, it will be time to say goodbye. Say goodbye to the opening theme song with the pre-instagram esque photo montage. Say goodbye to Ted and his search for the one. Say goodbye to Barney’s Legen – wait for it – moments. Say goodbye to fun lines like, “Lawyer’ed, Chocolate Fudge, GO FOR BARNEY, HIGH FIVE, AWESOME, DAMMIT PATRICE, but ummm, Colonel stuck-in-my-tooth, oh honey, or even my least favorite – you son of a bitch.” Say goodbye to going to the mall, laser tag, McLaren’s, climbing aboard the murder train, suiting up, puzzles, Swarley, Lorenzo Von Matterhorn, Jack Package (It’s pronounced Packáge), The playbook, the bro code, the blue French horn, the purple giraffe, the red cowboy boots that Ted pulled off, Barney’s green/diamond/pajama suit, the famous yellow umbrella, and slap bets. Say goodbye to Ted, to Marshall, to Lily, to Robin, and to Barney. Say goodbye to the many recurring and supporting characters like Ranjit, Carl, Wendy the Waitress, Victoria, Zoey, Mickey, Stella, Patrice, (Thank you) Linus, Quinn, Sandy Rivers, Nora, The Captain, Scooter, Stripper Lily, Mustache Marshall, Lesbian Robin, Mexican Wrestler Ted, the five or six doppelgängers Barney had (Even though they were just him in disguise), William Zabka, Gary Blauman, Tim Gunn, (Pfft) Doug, Scooby, Hammond Druthers, The Blitz, Coat Check Girl, Stan, Kevin, The Naked Man, and so many more.

The Ashtray

Lastly, it will be time to say goodbye to the magic that happened on this show. From the mood created so accurately by a simple music choice, to relating to each of these characters at one point or another (More often than not, Ted, for me), to a monologue from the narrating Bob Saget about life’s ups and downs. To the creative storytelling, camerawork, and editing techniques. What this all boiled down to was the theme this show has been preaching since the beginning: love and how it’s simply the best thing we can do in this crazy mixed up world we live in. We’ll never stop fighting for love no matter the scrapes and bruises we get along the way; and it doesn’t have to make sense, to make sense.

Stick around, I’ll be sure to review the finale of HIMYM after I take a month or so to recuperate.

-Reed

PS -DARY, LEGENDARY!

IMAGES: http://www.mendaily.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/01/How-i-met-your-mother-02.jpg, http://static2.hypable.com/wp-content/gallery/himym-8×17/himym6.jpg

Let us know what you think!

