My predictions for the 2014 Academy Awards

LOGO_OSCARS_ON-AIR__2014-color

The time has come! Roll out the red carpet! Queue the fashion statements whether they be bold or dull! And above all, get pumped for Oscar Night!

I’ll keep the intro to this post brief, so that I can get to the point of my predictions and whatnot. What I will do is state the award, list the nominees, state which nominees I WANT to win, which will be italicized, and what nominees I think WILL win, which will be bolded. So without further adieu, here are my predictions for the 2014 Academy Awards.

BEST PICTURE

Nominees:

American Hustle

Captain Phillips

Dallas Buyer’s Club

Gravity

Her

Nebraska

Philomena

12 Years a Slave

The Wolf of Wall Street

Without a doubt I want Her to win best picture. I thought it was phenomenal and a true statement on society and technology today. However, after much thought, I believe Gravity will take home best picture this year. It has all of the technical achievements on lockdown, the movie was a technical masterpiece. I really could not decide between this or 12 Years a Slave, but in the end I went with the former because I think it actually deserves it more. Director Alfonso Cuarón’s vision of space and it’s perils was nothing short of a masterpiece. If Her wins, I will be ECSTATIC. However Gravity is, in all honesty, just as good.

ACTOR IN A LEADING ROLE

Christian Bale in American Hustle

Bruce Dern in Nebraska

Leonardo DiCaprio in The Wolf of Wall Street

Chiwotel Ejiofor in 12 Years a Slave

Matthew McConaughey in Dallas Buyers Club

Nothing would please me more than to see DiCaprio finally get what he deserves, after years of breakthrough performances. He was snubbed last year for his performance in Django Unchained (2012), and on numerous other occasions. He certainly performed out of his shoes in The Wolf of Wall Street. His gratuity was unprecedented and he certainly will be remembered for this role. I went with McConaughey for best actor because I think the academy will look at him and see the physical changes he went through for the movie and the combination of subtlety and  charisma. If either of them wins, I will be satisfied. The only person in this category I really don’t want to win is Bruce Dern, to be honest.

ACTOR IN A SUPPORTING ROLE

Barkhad Abdi in Captain Phillips

Bradley Cooper in American Hustle

Michael Fassbender in 12 Years a Slave

Jonah Hill in The Wolf of Wall Street

Jared Leto in Dallas Buyers Club

This is arguably the most competitive award this season. Each of these actors performed exceptionally in their movies and deserve the recognition they have received. However the difference between the four preceding nominees and Leto is Leto’s commitment was incomparable. Changing himself physically the way he did and playing a transgender is no easy task. I do have a soft spot for Jared Leto, being a fan of 30 Seconds to Mars (his band he lead sings for), and acknowledging his performance in Requiem for a Dream (2000). But I really feel he deserves this win and would love to see it happen.

ACTRESS IN A LEADING ROLE

Amy Adams in American Hustle

Cate Blanchett in Blue Jasmine 

Sandra Bullock in Gravity

Judi Dench in Philomena

Meryl Streep in August: Osage County

It came down to Sandra Bullock and Cate Blanchett but I’m going with my gut and saying Blanchett. Her performance in Woody Allen’s picture was both intriguing and downright sad. I was attracted to Sandra Bullock though because of the way she shows fear of being lost in space, something that is certainly a terrifying thing to really think about. She captures it really well, but not the way Cate Blanchett delivers her performance of a woman who has lost everything and cannot admit to the harsh reality of it, thus reverting to talk to herself. Blanchett definitely deserves this award, but Bullock is certainly a dark horse in the race.

ACTRESS IN A SUPPORTING ROLE

Sally Hawkins in Blue Jasmine

Jennifer Lawrence in American Hustle

Lupita Nyong’o in 12 Years a Slave

Julia Roberts in August: Osage County

June Squibb in Nebraska

It’s really not a competition. She has the most powerful and awe inducing performance out of these actresses. I love Jennifer Lawrence and admire her for winning best actress last year, but she really doesn’t compare to Nyong’o’s role as a slave in the 19th century who has essentially given up on hope. If she doesn’t win this, I’d be incredibly shocked.

ANIMATED FEATURE FILM

The Croods

Despicable Me 2

Ernest & Celestine

Frozen

The Wind Rises

It’s gonna be Frozen. Great animation, exceptional voice acting, catchy songs, and it has already created this cult following out of half my friends in three months. I would have loved to see Monsters University get nominated, but I still think Frozen would win regardless.

For the remainder of the awards I’m just gonna state the nominees and who I think/want to win, without explanation.

CINEMATOGRAPHY

The Grandmaster

Gravity

Inside Llewyn Davis

Nebraska

Prisoners

COSTUME DESIGN

American Hustle

The Grandmaster

The Great Gatsby

The Invisible Woman

12 Years a Slave

DIRECTING

David O’Russel for American Hustle

Alfonso Cuarón for Gravity

Alexander Payne for Nebraska

Steve McQueen for 12 Years a Slave

Martine Scorcese for The Wolf of Wall Street

DOCUMENTARY FEATURE – I didn’t see any of these, I’m just going off of word of mouth

The Act of Killing

Cutie and the Boxer

Dirty Wars

The Square

20 Feet from Stardom

DOCUMENTARY SHORT SUBJECT – Again, word of mouth

CaveDigger

Facing Fear

Karama Has No Way Walls

The Lady in Number 6: Music Saved My Life

Prison Terminal: The Last Days of Private Jack Hall

FILM EDITING – Hopefully I get nominated for this one day

American Hustle

Captain Phillips

Dallas Buyer’s Club

Gravity

12 Years a Slave

FOREIGN LANGUAGE FILM – Word of mouth, and I like Italy

The Broken Circle Breakdown – Belgium

The Great Beauty – Italy

The Hunt – Denmark

The Missing Picture – Cambodia

Omar – Palestine

MAKEUP AND HAIRSTYLING

Dallas Buyer’s Club

Jackass Presents: Bad Grandpa

The Lone Ranger

ORIGINAL SCORE

The Book Thief

Gravity

Her

Philomena

Saving Mr. Banks

ORIGINAL SONG

“Happy” from Despicable Me 2

“Let it Go” from Frozen

“The Moon Song” from Her

“Ordinary Love” from Mandela: A Long Walk to Freedom

PRODUCTION DESIGN

American Hustle

Gravity

The Great Gatsby

Her

12 Years a Slave

ANIMATED SHORT FILM – I only saw ‘Get a Horse!’ but I loved it

Feral

Get a Horse!

Mr. Hublot

Possessions

Room on the Broom

LIVE ACTION SHORT FILM – I just like the title of this one

Aquel No Era Yo (That Wasn’t Me)

Avant Que De Trout Perdre (Just Before Losing Everything)

Helium

Pitääkö mun kaikki hoitaa? (Do I Have to Take Care of Everything?)

The Voorman Problem

SOUND EDITING

All is Lost

Captain Phillips

Gravity

The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug

Lone Survivor

SOUND MIXING

Captain Phillips

Gravity

The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug

Inside Llewyn Davis

Lone Survivor

VISUAL EFFECTS

Gravity

The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug

Iron Man 3

The Lone Ranger

Star Trek Into Darkness

ADAPTED SCREENPLAY

Before Midnight

Captain Phillips

Philomena

12 Years a Slave

The Wolf of Wall Street

ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY

American Hustle

Blue Jasmine

Dallas Buyer’s Club

Her

Nebraska

BOOM. There you have it. These are my predictions, bold or not bold as they may be. Hopefully I’m right, but knowing the academy I won’t be because they are incredibly unpredictable and often questionable. Like how did Argo (2012) win last year? Whatever it’s all a matter of opinion. Enjoy the Oscars tonight, and keep my post open if you care to look on with me!

-Reed

IMAGE: http://www.theempressofdress.com/wp-content/uploads/LOGO_OSCARS_ON-AIR__2014-color.jpg

Let us know what you think!

