Don’t let go; a review of Gravity (2013)… Also an insight into one of my biggest bonehead mistakes

gravity-movie-poster

As much as it pains me to say this, my first reaction to the trailer for Gravity (2013) didn’t really intrigue me. But as the release got closer and closer the movie seemed more and more appealing. Also the fact that it is written and directed by Alfonso Cuarón, the director of Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (2004) and one of my favorite films, Children of Men (2006). 

Gravity opens with, in my opinion, the greatest opening shot of all time. It runs about eleven minutes long and serves as a great opening to the movie. The film stars Sandra Bullock and George Clooney (He’s Batman!) as a medical engineer and a veteran astronaut, respectively. The two are caught in a storm of debris during a space mission and thus begins their journey back to Earth.

This movie made me realize just how scary it is, the idea of being lost in space. Being lost in essentially nothingness. Infinite blackness. Sandra Bullock’s character starts to run low on oxygen due to her heavy breathing and I can tell you right now that would be me if I were stuck in space. Just totally freaking out and having a mental breakdown. The entire movie I was rooting for Bullock and Clooney to make it back; but in the back of my head I told myself that I’d be fine with them dying too, because that would be incredibly realistic.

GravityFilm

There aren’t a lot of movies grounded in total realism when it comes to Hollywood films of the 21st century. Gravity is a VERY realistic movie. The sound editing is evidence of that. As much as I love Star Wars (1977), they are inaccurate when it comes to sound in space. There is no sound in space. Gravity shows this splendidly. Any communication between Bullock and Clooney is through their radios, as well as communication with NASA, so it all sounds a little muffled as if they are talking with their mouths in their elbows. When things start to go bad, and satellites and shuttles are falling apart, you basically don’t hear anything. When anyone hits an object, you hear a slight *thump* but that’s literally it. The impact of what’s happened is still present, despite the noise made. Great sound editing.

The cinematography is phenomenal, there’s no other word to describe it. The camera movements when it came to the long shots (There are some REALLY long shots in this movie, and they are all splendidly done), the wide shots of earth and the atmosphere around it, showing these greenish clouds (I’m not a scientist, I don’t know what that stuff is. I’m sure my Uncle does, though, he knows practically everything). The movie was wonderful to look at. Clooney says it himself, “You can’t beat the view.”

If this film won best cinematography, best visual effects, best sound editing, and best editing at the Oscars this year, I think I’d be totally fine with it. Hell, if it won best picture I think I’d be alright with it; but Oscar season has barely begun so I don’t wanna count my chickens before they hatch. However Gravity definitely deserves a lot of recognition for the achievements in this movie.

Overall rating: 9/10

I’m just gonna say it, it’s the best movie of this year so far. Phenomenal storytelling. Very goal oriented characters (Probably the most simple goal: Survive), and astounding visuals. Definitely worth seeing.

I do have a story to tell you however. So I saw the movie in 3D, and I put my glasses on before the first 3D trailer for The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug (2013). The picture is a little out of focus and I say to my friend, “Does the picture look funny to you?” To which he says, “Yes.” So I sit through all of Gravity thinking that theres something wrong with the picture and I was planning on getting my money back after complaining to the manager. Turns out I was wearing my sunglasses instead of my 3D glasses. Yeah. I legitimately felt like a fool afterwards and my friends were quick to make me feel like one as well… So to conclude, my friend is a jerk because he’s one of those guys who says, “Yeah,” when in reality he didn’t hear what I said; and I watched as slightly fuzzy movie the whole time. I blame him mostly. But hey, the fact that I still enjoyed this movie thoroughly without my glasses proves how fantastic it is… RIGHT?

-Reed

IMAGES: http://www.comicsbulletin.com/main/sites/default/files/shot/images/1309/GravityFilm.jpg, http://www.scified.com/movie-posters/gravity-movie-poster.jpg

Let us know what you think!

