I don’t believe in destiny, I believe in me.

mkrigsman

I’ve been around the block a few times my past twenty years of existence. Sure, there’s those people out there that’ll say, “Hey Reed, chill out, you’re wicked young; you don’t know squat about life yet.” I honestly beg to differ. I can be twenty years old and have a pretty solid outlook on life and how I wish to live it.

I’ve come across some people who believe in a little thing called destiny. The dictionary defines it as, “The inevitable or necessary fate to which a particular person or thing is destined.” Wow… don’t you hate it when the root of the word is in the definition? Really grinds my gears. Those people who believe in destiny will often tell you crap like “Oh, my boyfriend and I are destined to be together,” or, “It is my destiny to become an architect.” I’m not saying it is wrong for these people to have this belief, I’m just saying I really REALLY don’t believe its the case. I think I make my future, not the universe.

I don’t know if it’s because I’m just a bitter human being, or if it’s because of the home I was raised in, but I don’t think there is anyone, “up there,” on my side moving the pieces to put me in a position to succeed. Whether it’s in school or in relationships. Like I said, I think its valiant of people to believe in that sort of thing. It really gives off this positive quality about them (Just make sure you don’t shove it in people’s faces or it may be mistaken for naivety); But it really isn’t my bag.

I believe in myself and that I’m the one moving the pieces. I’ve always hated the idea that some exterior element is in charge of my life and that everything has been predetermined for me. No, I owe every good and bad thing that has happened to me to myself.

I say I relate to Ted Mosby on How I Met Your Mother a lot, but the one thing we don’t see eye to eye on is that he has been counting on the universe to give him the answers, whereas I never believed they were coming. I don’t know if I’m going to succeed in life. I don’t know if I’m ever going to find ‘the one’. Does it concern me? Well, yeah! Wouldn’t you wanna know if everything you do works out for the best. But you know what, It’s come to the point where I really just don’t care anymore and I just wanna keep on keeping on. I’ll do everything for me and make my own way without any, “Divine intervention.” I don’t need it.

-Reed

IMAGE http://visegradrevue.eu/wp-content/uploads/mkrigsman.jpg

Let us know what you think!

