A story of wealth, fame, power… and this guy; A review of Clear History (2013)

o-LARRY-DAVID-facebook

I’m a huge fan of Larry David. He is the creator of two of my favorite TV shows of all time, Seinfeld (1989-1998) and Curb Your Enthusiasm (2000- ). Seinfeld has been over for some time but Curb is still going on on HBO whenever David decides he feels like doing another season (The 9th season is supposedly happening next summer).

Clear History (2013) is a straight to TV movie produced and broadcasted by HBO. It has a star studded cast including Larry David, Bill Hader, Phillip Baker Hall, Jon Hamm, Kate Hudson, Michael Keaton, Danny McBride, Eva Mendes, Amy Ryan, J.B. Smoove, and Liev Schreiber. The film is about Larry David’s character, Nathan, leaving a company because he does not agree with the his boss’ (Jon Hamm) decisions. The company makes billions and David’s character is now a laughing stock.

This movie, to me, was perfect. It was basically a Curb Your Enthusiasm movie, putting David in situations that call for him to be a complete jerk, just like any given episode of Curb; and just like those episodes, I was in stitches. There’s one scene in a restaurant that I almost threw up from laughing. All of the characters have great chemistry with one another, the dialogue flows like it should and the movie definitely doesn’t skip a beat. Also the fact that it takes place on Martha’s Vineyard is a huge plus for me too. Let’s go Massachusetts! RIGHT?!

After watching eight seasons of Curb, and this movie, I’ve come to the conclusion that I may very well end up just like Larry David when I’m older, if I’m not already there. Just an angry loud Jewish guy. I find something to be wrong with just about any situation I’m in. My friends say I’m, “The grumpy one,” like I’m one of the seven dwarfs, and my hair is going grey already! I’M ONLY 20. This isn’t supposed to happen ’till I get married, if I even find someone I can tolerate; or better yet someone who can tolerate me. THAT’S the real challenge in this world.

Jon Hamm is splendid in this movie, and I mean this in the most professional way possible when I say the guy is just drop dead gorgeous. I was kind of rooting for him to be cast as the Batman in the Man of Steel (2013) sequel (Read my review of the first one here); but like I said in my blog post, I’m fine with Ben Affleck.

My friend who I live with said this perfectly last night after watching this movie: There is never enough Danny McBride in anything. Even in Eastbound & Down (2009- ) which he is the star of. You always want more of the guy because he is hilarious. I loved him in this movie and he was a great supporting character for this movie. It’s hard to be a good supporting role in a film starring Larry David because David is usually in the spotlight with the funnies; but McBride did just fine and left me wanting more of him. Can’t wait for the last season of EastBound & Down.

clearhistory

In regards to the rest of the cast, so as not to bore you, I’ll say Liev Schreiber was funny, Eva Mendes was fine but her gaining weight was questionable. I mean good for her for expressing herself, but it just threw me off. Michael Keaton is hilarious and I don’t think I’ve ever seen him in a role like this (I still think of him as Batman from Tim Burton‘s film). Lastly, J.B. Smoove was basically his exact same character from Curb. ABSOLUTELY NOTHING WRONG WITH THAT IN MY BOOK.

Clear History is a simple movie with a ton of laughs and very dry humor. There’s no thought provoking plot line to make you sit in bed at night and wonder about the world. It’s just a simple good time with a great cast. I do wish there was more Bill Hader, though. Not like I said earlier about Danny McBride. Like there ACTUALLY wasn’t enough Bill Hader.

Overall rating: 8/10

Great laughs, good enough story to not question it, and a very talented cast. If you love Curb Your Enthusiasm, you’ll love this movie. Who knows, maybe you’ll love it regardless. If you’ve never watched Curb, or Seinfeld for that matter, I HIGHLY recommend them, they are literally shows about nothing and you can lose hours watching episodes.

-Reed

2 responses to “A story of wealth, fame, power… and this guy; A review of Clear History (2013)

  1. My absolute favorite part of this movie was Michael Keaton. He needs to be cast is a lot more stuff, immediately! It’s crazy that he’s been so underused for so many years.

Let us know what you think!

