Ben Affleck will be the next Batman

Ben-Affleck-Batman-640x415

I knew it wouldn’t take long for Warner Bros to cast a new Dark Knight once they announced that the sequel to this summer’s Man of Steel (2013) would be a crossover between our world’s finest. I gotta say, I’m not too shocked at the choice either.

I was at the movies with my friend seeing We’re the Millers (2013) (Review here!) and when the movie got out I took out my phone (Because I am one of those people that will silence their phone during a motion picture and ACTUALLY immerse myself in the film unlike some people today) to a barrage of texts from friends asking for my thoughts on this development. Obviously I went to my source for film news to make sure it was true and then thought for a hot minute.

I will say I’m a TAD BIT disappointed by this choice. Warner Bros stated that they wanted their next Batman to be older and more experienced than the likes of Christopher Nolan’s Batman from the past few years. My first thought was Josh Brolin or Jon Hamm and it was rumored that Brolin was actually in talks. Affleck seems like a decent fit for the Batman but not so much Bruce Wayne in my opinion.

Having said that, I will say that if they are trying to get a Justice League film up and running, Affleck is a pretty fair choice. They’ll cast him for the Man of Steel sequel (which is due out July 17, 2015) and then they could potentially lock him in to direct AND star in the Justice League movie. Affleck is on a bit of a hot streak right now in the directors’ chair, having directed three critically acclaimed films (one of them which won best picture at the Oscars this past year).

I think Warner Bros has their heads on their shoulders with this one and they know what they are doing to secure more movies from the DC Comics film universe which means more money and happy fans. People have been saying that Affleck will bomb because of his performance in Daredevil (2003) as the titular superhero. Well guess what people, THAT WAS TEN YEARS AGO. I’m pretty sure Mr. Affleck has developed as an actor and improved his craft since then, otherwise he wouldn’t still be in show business.

Only time will tell if this is really the best direction to go in, and I’m very curious to see. Hey, at least now Batman could be from Boston! “Hey Supahman, ya mothah %$#&^@*!”

-Reed

One response to “Ben Affleck will be the next Batman

  1. Pingback: A story of wealth, fame, power… and this guy; A review of Clear History (2013) | We're Not Sorry·

Let us know what you think!

