A little sun can bring out your dark side; a review of Spring Breakers (2013)

Spring-Breakers-A4

When I first saw the trailer for Spring Breakers, my reaction was, “I need to see this movie, but there is no way I am paying for it.” The movie had a pretty appealing look to it. I mean what’s not to like? Nudity, partying, Selena Gomez, Vanessa Hudgens, James Franco, violence, etc. Seems like quite the roller coaster, right?

That’s exactly what Spring Breakers is. It’s a roller coaster. The main characters seem to be on that first climb at the beginning of the movie, getting higher and higher (Figuratively and literally); but then all of a sudden they just drop… Fast.

The movie had outstanding cinematography for the most part, but there were a few instances of shaky camera work that just made my head spin. The editing was very well done too. It really helped support the story and kept me wondering how and when events were going to occur. And let’s talk about the soundtrack! I’m a huge fan of electro dance music (EDM) and dubstep like Skrillex and Benny Benassi. The music fit the theme really well: That Spring Break is just a party and a half. I mean the first two minutes of the film is just dubstep with topless girls dancing and drinking… Great hook line and sink if you ask me! Also, they have a sick scene with one of my favorite Britney Spears song playing in the back.

The cast also drew me to watch this film. I LOVE James Franco and I think he kills it in every role he is in. This role was nothing like anything he’s ever played before. If I had to compare it to previous roles, I’d say it’s like his character from Pineapple Express (2008); but even more drugged out, more violent, more… Crazy for lack of a better term. Selena Gomez and Vanessa Hudgens were both wearing Knockaround sunglasses, so they earned a lot of respect in my book. Also, Hudgens is way hotter than Gomez… Sorry Selener. Both their acting wasn’t BAD; but it wasn’t really anything to write home about.

SB_MM_02794

Spring Breakers was trying to send a message to early twenty year olds that spring break is a dangerous time where you can lose yourself to the partying and drugs and alcohol. I just think the way they presented it was a little too extreme. Not everyone turns into a drugged out party girl killer; but perhaps the extremity of the movie was meant to be an exaggeration of what us kids do today, so as to send a message. Personally, I don’t have the money to do the stuff they do in this movie.

Overall rating: 6/10

Great cinematography and editing. I love James Franco. The story is suspect, but I can live with it. This was not meant to be a tour de force that will take home Oscar gold. Watch it with a few friends, your time won’t be considered wasted.

-Reed

PS I’m gonna start posting the trailers to the movies I review in case you are interested in watching. Hopefully Drew follows this motion (START DOING THIS DREW)

Let us know what you think!

