More minions, more despicable; A review of Despicable Me 2 (2013)

despicable_me_two_ver7_xxlg

I’ve been dying to see this movie with my friend from camp because we saw the first one together three years ago. Yes, she’s a girl. No it was not a date (It totally was… jk).

I’m gonna keep this short and sweet because I should be looking after the kids right now. I liked this movie. Didn’t love it the way I loved the first one though.

Steve Carell’s character, Gru, had his moments in this movie; but let’s be honest. The minions are the best part and there were definitely more than last time. They steal all the scenes and have me in stitches.

There’s one brief party scene with them and the minions are playing ruit with ice cream cups and then sucking milkshakes through straws like it’s a hookah bar. It’s the subtle things like that that make me laugh out loud. They had stuff like that in Monsters University (2013) as well.

I’ll be honest, I thought Kristen Wiig’s character, Lucy, was annoying for the most part. But Wiig, herself, played the part very well… If that makes any sense at all.

Minions-In-Despicable-Me-2

The story dragged during the second act but then picked back up in the third act when the minions got more involved. Also the other scene stealer was Agnes (Voiced by Elsie Kate Fisher). She’s so precious, especially at the end.

Overall rating: 7/10

Despicable Me 2 did not capture my heart like the first one did, but I’d be lying if I said I didn’t enjoy it. Lots of laughs but a predictable story. Worth seeing if you’re a fan of the first, regardless. I’m worried about the possible solo flick for the minions. They are great for comic relief; but an entire movie about them may be suspect.

-Reed

One response to “More minions, more despicable; A review of Despicable Me 2 (2013)

  1. Pingback: Movie Monday – Identity Thief, A Good Day to Die Hard, Despicable Me 2 | The Journey of Two·

Let us know what you think!

