Pixar does prequels now! A review of Monsters University (2013)

MonstersUniversity-poster

Sup, interwebs? Haven’t been here for a while. I actually saw this movie like four or five days ago but since I’m responsible for children like… every day of the week, I haven’t had the time to sit down and do this review.

So, like any sequel/prequel (except Christopher Nolan’s Batman trilogy), I went into this expecting it not to meet the standards of the original. And that’s basically what happened. BUT DON’T LET THAT TAKE AWAY FROM THE FACT THAT I ACTUALLY LIKED THIS FILM.

Having been in college for a year now (Hofstra Pride!), I definitely related to this movie. There is one scene in a classroom where I couldn’t breathe I was laughing so hard. I hate giving things away but it was just so college and the professor in the scene was just like my astronomy professor from two semesters ago.

The film has all the things you look for in a Pixar movie: Goal oriented protagonists that people can relate to, comedy, the feels every once in a while, and that star ball (I didn’t see the Pizza Planet truck, I may need to see it again just to find it).

2013-Monsters-University-Movie-Wallpaper

It expresses the theme that one can use their differences to benefit themselves and really stand out in a positive way and make friends to last a life time. Especially in an environment such as college.

Monsters University is a much appreciated addition to the Pixar filmography. It has great animation and a story that will definitely have college students relating to it and cracking more than a few smiles. Even little kids will laugh at the jokes (However there are some that may go over their heads… Like the fact that the monsters are indeed getting ruthless at the frat parties). It’s well worth seeing, even if it doesn’t make the impact that Monsters Inc. (2001) made.

Overall Rating: 7.5/10

The film blows Brave (2012), Pixar’s most previous movie, out of the water. Srsly, I thought Brave was just Pixar mailing it in last year… Yet they still won the oscar for best animated feature over Wreck-It Ralph (2012)… Still under protest in my opinion.

-Reed

Let us know what you think!

