Guilty Pleasures: Don’t be ashamed.

orig-17705061-2

Guilty pleasures. We all have them. Everyone has buried inside them something that pleases them that they don’t wanna share with anyone because they are afraid of being judged.

They’re just like the people that have them: They come in all shapes and forms. It could be a television show, a music artist/band, or maybe a food; who knows. The point is they have everywhere. Like Agents in The Matrix (1999)… only not as cool as Hugo Weaving.

I need to stop making pointless movie references. Honestly, one could make a drinking game out of it.

People feel like they will be outcasted and judged by their peers if they reveal their guilty pleasures. I’m here to tell you today that you should not feel threatened at all… Yep, it’s gonna be a post about life lessons today. Get ready for it.

I guarantee you that there are at least 10 other people out there that have the same guilty pleasure as you. Don’t be ashamed of it, it makes you who you are. I will admit my two guilty pleasures right here and right now because I just don’t care who knows. I know for a fact there are other people out there that have the same guilty pleasures as me.

Guilty Pleasure #1: I watch the show Glee. I have since it first aired in like 2009. I have many friends who absolutely ream me about it day in and day out. It’s like a broken record. In high school I would discuss it with my girlfriends (friends who are girls, I’m not a polygamist.) and then my guy friends would accuse me of being gay, yada yada yada.

I like Glee because it deals with a lot of issues that high schoolers and college students face today. It deals with events that have been present such as bullying or eating disorders or sexual orientation and presents them in a mature fashion. I relate with certain characters and I know people who watch the show who relate to others. Also from a technical aspect, it is very well edited, what with its song sequences and methods of storytelling. And I’d be lying to you if I said I wasn’t a sucker for “Top 40” songs.

Guilty Pleasure #2: I love 90s boy bands. Like not just Backstreet Boys and N’Sync. I like New Kids on the Block, LMNT, and more. I don’t know I just think they’re feel good songs and they make me wanna dance. Girls I hang out with are alright with it because when I throw my iPod on at a party, they love that, “Pop,” by N’Sync comes on and they just go off like I do. Guys think it’s a little strange, but again, I know many guys who like boy bands as much as I do… If not more. I mean come on, tell me this song isn’t catchy!

So there you have it. I told you my two guilty pleasures. Do I still have the same friends as before? Yes. Am I still intact as a person? Yes. Your true friends won’t care what your guilty pleasures are. If they make fun of you a lil bit, that’s one thing; but if they still respect you as a human being, that’s what really matters. Stay true to yourself and embrace what makes you happy.

-Reed

6 responses to “Guilty Pleasures: Don’t be ashamed.

  1. Pingback: Pleasure | TimesrInteresting·

  2. Pingback: RIP Cory Monteith | We're Not Sorry·

Let us know what you think!

