Hermione just stole all of our #$%&; A review of This Is The End (2013)

This-Is-The-End

I am always skeptical paying to see a comedy. It’s always a 50/50 chance whether or not you’re gonna laugh and then, by definition, get your money’s worth. My friend from school told me that This Is The End exceeded his expectations, so that made me want to see this film more than I already did. And I gotta tell you, I was indeed impressed.

It’s been a while since I laughed at a comedy I saw in theaters. I think if you qualify Scott Pilgrim vs. The World (2010) then I think that might be the last one. I didn’t see The Hangover (2009) in theaters, and I wasted my money with the second one.

The cast in this movie is STACKED. I have a massive man-crush on James Franco (Just like about everyone on this planet). Danny McBride is PERFECT. He was basically playing Kenny Powers the whole time (His character on HBO’s East Bound and Down, which is HILARIOUS.). His intro scene in the movie was amazing. Couldn’t stop laughing.

Michael Cera is in this movie, and for once he plays the exact opposite of every character he’s ever been. He’s basically the biggest jerk, doing drugs and harassing Rihanna, and it’s HILARIOUS . I have like three or four friends and a cousin who are obsessed with Riri, so I’m sure they’re gonna love her in this movie. Emma Watson was also great in this picture. She’s not in it for much but all of her scenes are very comical. Drew has a massive crush on Watson, and I’m probably gonna jump on that bandwagon now. She’s pulling off the short hair in this movie.

Film Review This Is The End

The film was honestly funny from the very beginning to the very end. Most comedies these days are only funny until around 2/3 into the movie and then they get all sappy and the main character stops a wedding in progress and kisses the girl at the end. The cameo at the end is AMAZING. I won’t give it away, but I had the biggest smile on my face. It was even very action packed at times! Like this was more than a comedy. It was an apocalyptic thriller too! It’s basically what all of Roland Emmerich’s films should have been if they were done right (Except Independence Day (1996), that movie’s incredible.).

I would consider my money for This Is The End well spent and do recommend this to fans of raunchy comedies and apocalypse movies.

Overall rating: 7.5/10

Be sure to check out my review of Man Of Steel (2013) at the end of the weekend. Seeing it on Sunday with the old man for Father’s Day.

-Reed

Let us know what you think!

