Game of Thrones Season 3 review

Emilia-Clarke-as-Daenerys-Targaryen-1

Just letting you know now I’m gonna go into some SPOILERS in this review. So now’s your last chance to leave this page… We good? Good.

This was, in my opinion, the most coherent season of Game of Thrones, yet. I don’t know if it’s because now at this point I know almost everyone’s name, or because they only covered half of the third book this season and so they could be more detailed with plot lines and characters. Either way, I didn’t have to text my friend from camp who has read the book and ask him what the heck is going on.

The Red Wedding was indeed the climax of this season and the season finale just showed the aftermath of it and what a post-Red Wedding world looked like. What they did to Robb Stark’s body was probably one of the most disturbing things I’d ever seen in this show. Right up there with Jaime and Cersei Lannister doing a little bump ‘n grind in the first season.

But all that can be pushed aside for Jaime because he is just awesome in this season. He very quickly became my favorite character and story arc this season. Him getting his hand cut off was also one of the more shocking things to happen this season (And the song during the credits afterwards was on point). He and Brienne had great chemistry on screen as Jaime tries to toy with her mind, and then the two actually developed a friendship and began to care for one another. Also the scene in the bath was amazing.

In King’s Landing, Joffrey is still the biggest scum bag. Like seriously? Asking to serve Robb’s head on a platter at his wedding to Sansa? That’s just… awful. I’m so glad that Tywin puts him in his place. Especially that scene in the thrown room. Yes, Tywin is a huge jerk. But the guy is one of the smartest men in Westeros. He is indeed the most powerful man right now, having arranged the Red Wedding, thus gaining control of the north. Along with Tyrion and Sansa’s wedding to harden that cement even more.

Back to the whole Robb and Catelyn Stark dying thing – I’m not GLAD it happened, but it makes things more interesting and shows that no one in Westeros is safe. It also reflected that this season focused on trust and who one could forge alliances with and be truthful. Some people gained advantage, a lot of people got screwed. Also, Stanis Baratheon discovering the White Walkers just goes to show that the politics of the seven kingdoms is nothing compared to the horror that is coming for everyone in the north. Not to mention Dany and her dragons coming…. I still hate the fire witch lady, though.

Dany killed it this season. She is both compassionate and ruthless. She will completely screw over a civilization, but then free its slaves. The scene when she “traded” her dragon for the unsullied was probably the second best scene of the season. Behind the Red Wedding, as gruesome as it was.

“The Lannisters send their regards.” Still think that line was awesome…. but screw you, Roose Bolton.

You know who else killed it? Arya Stark. She is slowly becoming one of my favorite characters. She and The Hound are great together and are forming quite the partnership. It’s such a shame she was so close to seeing Robb and Cat and to have that ripped away from her.

I’m upset that I have to wait until April 2014 for the next season, especially because of the finale’s somewhat anticlimactic ending scene. It’s cool to see Dany loved by free people, but it wasn’t as, “Holy $#&%,” as the ending to seasons 1 and 2. It felt more like a, “To be continued,” as if it were coming back this fall… But it’s not.

Overall rating: 9/10

I know I’m missing a lot of characters but I wanna make this short and sweet, so I focused on my favorites. I’ll also add that Jon Snow and Ygritte were great together and I’m sad that things ended so badly with Jon and the Wildlings.

Below I’m gonna post links to my favorite scenes this season. Enjoy!

-Reed

 

 

Let us know what you think!

