Love, Lust, Faith + Dreams: A Review

Thirty-Secons-to-Mars-Love-Lust-Faith-+-Dreams-cover

It has been a little over a week since the release of the newest album by 30 Seconds to Mars. Being one of my favorite bands, I had been highly anticipating this new album for quite some time.

Naturally, once the album had been released I quickly downloaded it and began my first listen through. Unlike some people who may sporadically choose different songs to listen to at a time, I feel you don’t get the full experience of the album unless you listen through it from start to finish without interruption.

After listening through the first time, I was shocked. I could maybe pick one or two songs off the whole album I liked. With 30 Seconds to Mars being one of my favorite bands, and with their last album This is War being absolutely phenomenal, I was taken aback. I immediately started the album over again. Once again, not impressed.

I left the album along for a few days and decided to give it another shot with a clear mind. Alas, I had the same results.

The single, Up in the Air was so powerful and strong, I had expected so much more from the album. With the exception of a few (and I mean a few) strong songs, It felt as if each song just blurred together and didn’t really stand out. I was expecting  the same roaring riffs and soaring vocals I had come to love from frontman Jared Leto. Overall, I feel that this album is somewhat weak.

Perhaps I could just be comparing this new album too much to This is War, but it just didn’t feel like 30 Seconds to Mars to me. Don’t get me wrong, the songs I did like (Conquistador, City of Angels, The Race, and Up in the Air), I LOVED. The rest of the songs weren’t by any means BAD, they just felt like filler to me.

Overall rating: 6.5/10

Maybe the album will grow on me in time, but it didn’t hold up to my initial expectations. Regardless, I encourage you to check out the album and decide for yourself. Also, if you ever have the chance to see 30 Seconds to Mars in concert, DO IT. They are easily one of the best live bands around.

On a side note:

Here is a new feature I’ve been meaning to try. Hit up our poll and lets see what you think!

-Drew

One response to “Love, Lust, Faith + Dreams: A Review

  1. Pingback: Sunday Song (Week 2) The Fantasy – 30 Seconds To Mars | dcwreview·

Let us know what you think!

