The more you see, the less you know: A review of Now You See Me (2013)

now-you-see-me-poster02

ISLA FISHER IS JUST KILLING IT RIGHT NOW. Like my God, have you met such an attractive woman? Total babe, though.

Alright now that that’s out of my system I can go on. So if you tell me a movie about modern day magic is coming out and it stars Jesse Eisenberg, Mark Ruffalo, Woody Harrelson, ISLA FISHER, Dave Franco, Morgan Freeman, and Michael Caine, I’m gonna go see this movie… RIGHT? Also the girl from Inglourious Basterds (2009) is in it too, she’s awesome and French and whatnot.

Now You See Me is basically Ocean’s Eleven (2001) meets The Prestige (2007). It’s about four magicians who steal money and then give it to their audience (So I guess you can Throw Robin Hood into the mix as well) with a series of illusions

“Illusions, Michael. A trick is something a %$@& does for money.” –Arrested Development

I really enjoyed this movie. The acting was very well done. Eisenberg was quick and witty, you’re always gonna love Freeman and Caine, Mark Ruffalo is slowly becoming one of my favorite actors, and Isla Fisher is a great actress and just so beautiful. Like seriously, Sacha Baron Cohen is a lucky man.

picture-of-isla-fisher-in-now-you-see-me-large-picture

SIDE NOTE: I didn’t realize how little screen time Freeman and Caine had together throughout Christopher Nolan’s Batman trilogy. The two had great chemistry together in this movie and now, looking back, I wish they had more scenes together in the Batman trilogy.

Anyway, not to spoil anything here but the movie had a good amount of twists that kept me guessing and then at the end I was very satisfied with where all the characters ended up. Overall, a very well done story with great actors to help resonate that.

Overall rating: 7.5/10

I give it a 7.5 because I’m not gonna lie, the story kinda leaned on that whole, “three trick,” ordeal like The Prestige did, and I thought maybe they could have done something a lil bit more original. Still, I would buy this movie on Blu-Ray any day of the week.

-Reed

4 responses to “The more you see, the less you know: A review of Now You See Me (2013)

  1. Pingback: Now You See Me | Musings&Rants·

Let us know what you think!

