‘The Dark Knight’ is my generation’s ‘The Empire Strikes Back’… Yeah, I said it.

?? Empire_strikes_back_old

This is either gonna go smoothly with people or they’re gonna think I’m an idiot… Probably the latter. Oh well.

It may sound ridiculous but hear me out. I have been thinking this for quite some time and I finally have a place to write it down besides telling my film savvy friends. I honestly think that The Dark Knight (2008) is my generation’s The Empire Strikes Back (1980) and I have good reasoning behind it.

1. Highly anticipated sequel: Both Batman Begins (2005) and Star Wars: A New Hope (1977) wowed and surprised audiences worldwide. They were commercial successes as summer blockbusters and are still raking in money to this day with merchandising. The only next step for the two movies was to make a sequel for each. Both films were the most anticipated movies of the years they came out in and both of them came out precisely three years after their predecessor (I think that’s kind of irrelevant but why not throw it in there anyway?).

2. They are both considered the best of the trilogy: This may be a very opinionated point; but TDK and Empire are easily the best of their respective trilogies. Yes some people will say the first Star Wars was the better of the three, but they will still tell you that Empire was a spectacular sequel. As for TDK, I truly have never met anyone who liked Batman Begins more.

3. The unresolved stories: *THERE ARE SPOILERS AHEAD IF YOU HAVE NOT SEEN EITHER OF THESE FILMS* Both of these movies end on massive cliffhangers that basically leave the audience in their seats as the credits roll saying, “You’ve gotta be kidding me,” or, “When’s the next one?” At the end of Empire, Luke Skywalker discovers that Darth Vader is his father, Han Solo has been frozen in carbonate and taken to Jabba’s palace by Boba Fett. As for TDK, Batman takes the blame for Harvey Dent’s crimes and retires from being Batman as Gotham City brands him a villain in order to keep Harvey Dent’s image untarnished. Neither of these movies ends on a high note, or a low note, really. Both just abruptly end with an unresolved story. The audience is left with questions and anticipation and then its *BOOM* end credits, done! That’s how to hook line and sink people for the next one. That’s how you get ’em, “See you in 3 to 4 years!”

So what do you think, am I talking smack or do I actually make a valid point? Comment and let me know! Also just as a sidenote, people say these two movies are some of the best sequels of all time, and I have to disagree. I think these are some of the best movies of all time.

-Reed

2 responses to “‘The Dark Knight’ is my generation’s ‘The Empire Strikes Back’… Yeah, I said it.

  1. Pingback: Top 10 Sequels Of All Time | Off the record, on the QT and very Hush-Hush·

  2. Pingback: Star Wars: Episode V – The Empire Strikes Back (1980) Revisited | WNS·

Let us know what you think!

